4th October 1809    Spencer Perceval
                      b. 1st November 1762, d. 11th May 1812
8th June 1812       Earl of Liverpool
                      b. 7th June 1770, d. 4th December 1828
12th April 1827     George Canning
                      b. 11th April 1770, d. 8th August 1827
31st August 1827    Viscount Goderich
                      b. 30th October 1782, d. 28th January 1859
22nd January 1828   Duke of Wellington
                      b. 1st May 1769, d. 14th September 1852
10th December 1834  Sir Robert Peel
                      b. 5th February 1788, d. 2nd July 1850
27th June 1846      Earl of Derby
                      b. 29th March 1799, d. 23rd October 1869
27th February 1868  Benjamin Disraeli (Earl of Beaconsfield)
                      b. 21st December 1804, d. 19th April 1881
9th May 1881        Marquess of Salisbury
                      b. 3rd February 1830, d. 22nd August 1903
12th July 1902      Arthur James Balfour
                      b. 25th July 1848, d. 19th March 1930
13th November 1911  Andrew Bonar Law
                      b. 15th September 1858, d. 30th October 1923
21st March 1921     Austen Chamberlain
                      b. 16th October 1863, d. 16th March 1937
23rd October 1922   Andrew Bonar Law
                      (see above)
28th May 1923       Stanley Baldwin
                      b. 3rd August 1867, d. 14th December 1947
31st May 1937       Arthur Neville Chamberlain
                      b. 18th March 1869, d. 9th November 1940
9th October 1940    Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill
                      b. 30th November 1874, d. 24th January 1965
21st April 1955     Sir Robert Anthony Eden
                      b. 12th June 1897, d. 14th January 1977
22nd January 1957   Maurice Harold Macmillan
                      b. 10th February 1894, d. 29th December 1986
12th November 1963  Sir Alexander Frederick Douglas-Home KT
                      b. 2nd July 1903, d. 9th October 1995
2nd August 1965     Edward Richard George Heath
                      b. 9th July 1916, d. 17th July 2005
11th February 1975  Margaret Hilda Thatcher
                      b. 13th October 1925
28th November 1990  John Major
                      b. 29th March 1943
19th June 1997      William Jefferson Hague
                      b. 26th March 1961
13th September 2001 George Iain Duncan Smith
                      b. 9th April 1954
6th November 2003   Michael Howard
                      b. 7th July 1941
6th December 2005   David William Donald Cameron
                      b. 9th October 1966

Elections for Conservative Party Leader:

1965 (Resignation of Douglas-Home):

1st Ballot 28th July 1965

Edward Heath           150
Reginald Maudling      133
Enoch Powell            15

(Maudling withdrew and endorsed Heath, who was then declared elected
nem. con.)

1975 (Thatcher challenge to Heath):

1st Ballot 4th February 1975

Margaret Thatcher      130
Edward Heath           119
Hugh Fraser             16

2nd Ballot 11th February 1975

Margaret Thatcher      146
William Whitelaw        79
Sir Geoffrey Howe       19
James Prior             19
John Peyton             11

1989 (Meyer challenge to Thatcher):

1st Ballot 5th December 1989

Margaret Thatcher      314
Sir Anthony Meyer       33

1990 (Heseltine challenge to Thatcher):

1st Ballot 20th November 1990

Margaret Thatcher      204
Michael Heseltine      152

2nd Ballot 27th November 1990

John Major             185
Michael Heseltine      131
Douglas Hurd            56

(Heseltine and Hurd withdrew and endorsed Major, who was thereupon declared
elected without a further ballot)

1995 (Major seeks re-election):

1st Ballot 4th July 1995

John Major             218
John Redwood            89

1997 (Resignation of Major):

1st Ballot 10th June 1997

Kenneth Clarke          49
William Hague           41
John Redwood            27
Peter Lilley            24
Michael Howard          23

2nd Ballot 17th June 1997

Kenneth Clarke          64
William Hague           62
John Redwood            38

3rd Ballot 19th June 1997

William Hague           92
Kenneth Clarke          70

2001 (Resignation of Hague)

1st Ballot 10th July 2001

Michael Portillo        49
Iain Duncan Smith       39
Kenneth Clarke          36
Michael Ancram          21
David Davis             21

(As there was a tie for last place, the Executive of the 1922 Committee
decided to hold a reballot)

1st Ballot 12th July 2001

Michael Portillo        50
Iain Duncan Smith       42
Kenneth Clarke          39
David Davis             18
Michael Ancram          17

(Ancram eliminated; Davis withdrew on 13th July)

2nd Ballot 17th July 2001

Kenneth Clarke          59
Iain Duncan Smith       54
Michael Portillo        53

Membership Ballot 13th September 2001

Iain Duncan Smith  155,933
Kenneth Clarke     100,864

2003 (Motion of confidence in Duncan Smith defeated by 75 to 90)

Michael Howard           unopposed

2005 (Resignation of Howard)

1st Ballot 18th October 2005

David Davis             62
David Cameron           56
Liam Fox                42
Kenneth Clarke          38

2nd Ballot 20th October 2005

David Cameron           90
David Davis             57
Liam Fox                51

Membership Ballot 6th December 2005

David Cameron      134,446
David Davis         64,398

Note on Conservative Party leadership elections:

1) Prior to 1965, there were no formal elections for the Leader of the
   Conservative Party. The process of choosing a leader involved a
   series of consultations with leading members of the party, which would
   eventually produce a candidate with whom the party was satisfied.

2) From 1965 until 1998, the leader was elected in a ballot of all 
   Conservative MPs, organised through the '1922 Committee'. In the first 
   round, a candidate had to obtain a majority of votes cast and a lead of
   15% of the total vote over their nearest rival. If no candidate obtained
   such a majority a second ballot was held (at which new candidates could
   stand), at which a candidate merely had to obtain a majority of votes
   cast. If this failed to produce a winner, a third ballot was held
   between the two candidates who had obtained the most votes in the
   second ballot.

3) From 1998, the system of election has been changed to allow grassroots
   members of the party to elect the leader from alternatives selected by
   Conservative MPs. If there are more than two candidates who seek the
   leadership, then the '1922 Committee' holds an eliminating ballot until
   only two are left (with new candidates not permitted to enter the race
   after the first ballot). When the two names are known, a postal ballot
   of individual members of Conservative Associations is held, and the
   candidate with the most votes is declared elected. An incumbent Leader
   may be challenged if 15% of the Parliamentary Party send in a letter
   expressing no confidence; if this happens, a vote of confidence is held
   in the current Leader. A Leader who wins the vote of confidence is
   immune from challenge for the next year.