The home of the GLC was County Hall, designed for the London County Council by Ralph Knott (1879-1929). Construction began in 1909 and the building was opened by King George V in 1922. Picture taken January 2003.

Greater London Council Election Results

The Greater London Council was established by the London Government Act 1963, which received Royal Assent on 31st July 1963. Initially, it was elected in multi-member electoral areas comprising the whole of each London Borough, but these were accepted as too large for genuine local representation, and from 1973 the GLC was elected from single-member electoral areas, identical to the constituencies used for Parliamentary elections.

The GLC was abolished in 1986, and most of its services transferred to government-appointed bodies. GLC members from inner-London electoral areas were also appointed to the Inner London Education Authority (ILEA) together with one member each from the inner London Boroughs; in 1986 ILEA was directly elected with two members returned from electoral areas identical to the inner London Parliamentary constituencies (there had been a boundary change in 1983). In 1990 ILEA was in turn abolished and responsibility transferred to the Boroughs.

In order to help readers unfamiliar with London local politics, on this page you will find a commentary on the electoral history of the GLC. Unlike the rest of the site this contains expressions of opinion and interpretation, though hopefully no reader will find a systematic bias.

The chamber of the GLC during a meeting, looking from the main terrace entrance towards the dais. Picture taken in 1981. It may be as well to mention here that press reports that the Council Chamber has been used by the Saatchi Gallery are incorrect; the Council Chamber remains intact. Ignorant newspaper reporters have managed to confuse it with the Conference Chamber.

Here are the total votes polled in each GLC election.

Here is a map of the election results.

Results of direct elections to the Inner London Education Authority, 1986-90.

Election Results

GLC election results are here filed by London Borough. From 1964 to 1973, each borough constituted a multi-member electoral area for the purposes of elections to the GLC. In 1973 and subsequent years, GLC members were elected in single member electoral areas coterminous with the parliamentary constituencies of the day. In the following files, these electoral areas have been grouped with the borough they were contained in, in order to provide some continuity. If you are interested in a particular electoral area but do not know in which borough it is, at the end of each entry the electoral areas within are listed.

Barking and Dagenham (Two seats): Barking, Dagenham.
Barnet (Four members): Chipping Barnet, Finchley, Hendon North, Hendon South.
Bexley (Three members): Bexleyheath, Erith and Crayford, Sidcup.
Brent (Four members): Brent East, Brent North, Brent South.
Bromley (Four members): Beckenham, Chislehurst, Orpington, Ravensbourne.
Camden (Three members): Hampstead, Holborn and St. Pancras South, St. Pancras North.
Cities of London and Westminster (Four members): City of London and Westminster South, Paddington, St. Marylebone.
Croydon (Four members): Croydon Central, Croydon North East, Croydon North West, Croydon South.
Ealing (Four members): Acton, Ealing North, Southall.
Enfield (Three members): Edmonton, Enfield North, Southgate.
Greenwich (Three members): Greenwich, Woolwich East, Woolwich West.
Hackney (Three members): Hackney Central, Hackney North and Stoke Newington, Hackney South and Shoreditch.
Hammersmith and Fulham (Three members): Fulham, Hammersmith North.
Haringey (Three members): Hornsey, Tottenham, Wood Green.
Harrow (Three members): Harrow Central, Harrow East, Harrow West.
Havering (Three members): Hornchurch, Romford, Upminster.
Hillingdon (Three members): Hayes and Harlington, Ruislip-Northwood, Uxbridge.
Hounslow (Three members): Brentford and Isleworth, Feltham and Heston.
Islington (Three members): Islington Central, Islington North, Islington South and Finsbury.
Kensington and Chelsea (Three members): Chelsea, Kensington.
Kingston-upon-Thames (Two members): Kingston-upon-Thames, Surbiton.
Lambeth (Four members): Lambeth Central, Norwood, Streatham, Vauxhall.
Lewisham (Four members): Deptford, Lewisham East, Lewisham West.
Merton (Two members): Mitcham and Morden, Wimbledon.
Newham (Three members): Newham North East, Newham North West, Newham South.
Redbridge (Three members): Ilford North, Ilford South, Wanstead and Woodford.
Richmond-upon-Thames (Two members): Richmond-upon-Thames, Twickenham.
Southwark (Four members): Bermondsey, Dulwich, Peckham.
Sutton (Two members): Carshalton, Sutton and Cheam.
Tower Hamlets (Two members): Bethnal Green and Bow, Stepney and Poplar.
Waltham Forest (Three members): Chingford, Leyton, Walthamstow.
Wandsworth (Four members): Battersea North, Battersea South, Putney, Tooting.

ALDERMEN of the Greater London Council 1964-77

National Election Results