10th December 1834  Lord John Russell
                      b. 18th August 1792, d. 28th May 1878
6th February 1855   Viscount Palmerston (Henry John Temple)
                      b. 20th October 1784, d. 18th October 1865
29th October 1865   William Ewart Gladstone
                      b. 29th December 1809, d. 19th May 1898
5th February 1875   Marquess of Hartington (Spencer Compton Cavendish)
                      b. 23rd July 1833, d. 24th March 1908
23rd April 1880     William Ewart Gladstone
                      (see above)
5th March 1894      Sir William George Granville Venables Vernon Harcourt
                      b. 14th October 1827, d. 1st October 1904
6th February 1899   Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman
                      b. 7th September 1836, d. 22nd April 1908
30th April 1908     Herbert Henry Asquith (Earl of Oxford and Asquith)
                      b. 12th September 1852, d. 15th February 1928
14th October 1926   David Lloyd George
                      b. 17th January 1863, d. 26th March 1945
4th November 1931   Sir Herbert Louis Samuel
                      b. 6th November 1870, d. 5th February 1963
26th November 1935  Sir Archibald Henry Macdonald Sinclair, Bt.
                      b. 22nd October 1890, d. 15th June 1970
2nd August 1945     Edward Clement Davies
                      b. 19th February 1884, d. 23th March 1962
5th November 1956   Joseph Grimond
                      b. 29th July 1913, d. 24th October 1993
18th January 1967   John Jeremy Thorpe
                      b. 29th April 1929
12th May 1976       Joseph Grimond (Acting Leader)
                      (see above)
7th July 1976       David Martin Scott Steel
                      b. 31st March 1938
28th July 1988      Jeremy John Durham Ashdown
                      b. 27th February 1941
9th August 1999     Charles Peter Kennedy
                      b. 25th November 1959
2nd March 2006      Walter Menzies Campbell
                      b. 22nd May 1941

Elections for Leader of the Liberal Party

Ballot 18th January 1967

Jeremy Thorpe            6
Emlyn Hooson             3
Eric Lubbock             3

(Hooson and Lubbock both withdrew and endorsed Thorpe, who was
thereupon declared elected unopposed)

Ballot 7th July 1976

David Steel         12,541
John Pardoe          7,032

Ballot 28th July 1988


Paddy Ashdown       41,401
Alan Beith          16,202

Ballot 9th August 1999

                      1st    Rendel    2nd   Ballard   3rd     Bruce    4th
                     count    elim    count   elim     count    elim    count

Charles Kennedy     22,724  +   895  23,619  + 1,545  25,164  + 3,261  28,425
Simon Hughes        16,233  + 1,145  17,378  + 1,982  19,360  + 2,473  21,833
Malcolm Bruce        4,643  +   598   5,241  +   827   6,068  - 6,068       -
Jackie Ballard       3,978  +   627   4,605  - 4,605       -                -
David Rendel         3,428  - 3,428       -                -                -
  (Not Transferrable        +   163     163  +   251     414  +   334     748)

Ballot 2nd March 2006

                      1st    Hughes    2nd
                     count    elim    count

Menzies Campbell    23,264  + 6,433  29,697
Chris Huhne         16,691  + 4,937  21,628
Simon Hughes        12,081  -12,081       -
  (Not Transferrable        +   711     711


1) The table lists the Leaders of the Liberal Party in the House of
   Commons. On occasion the clear Leader of the Liberal Party was the
   Leader in the House of Lords, and in the 19th century it was common for
   the Leaders in the two Houses to be regarded as joint leaders of
   the party and the Monarch may have sent for either to form a government.

   Liberal Leaders in the House of Lords in this period were as follows:

29th December 1852  Earl Granville (Granville George Leveson-Gower)
                      b. 11th May 1815, d. 31st March 1891
29th October 1865   Earl Russell (John Russell)
                      b. 18th August 1792, d. 28th May 1878
3rd December 1868   Earl Granville
                      (see above)
1st April 1891      Earl of Kimberley
                      b. 7th January 1826, d. 1902 
5th March 1894      Earl of Rosebery (Archibald Philip Primrose)
                      b. 7th May 1847, d. 21st May 1929
8th October 1896    Earl of Kimberley
                      (see above)

1) On 17th September 1987 the Liberal Party conference voted to merge
   the party with the Social Democratic Party, a decision endorsed by
   the party's membership in a postal ballot whose results were
   announced on 24th January 1988. The merged party was launched on
   19th March 1988. A minority of members of the Liberal Party disagreed
   with this decision and have continued to organise as the Liberal
   Party. The table above treats the Social and Liberal Democrats
   (later the Liberal Democrats) as the successor party.

2) Until 1969, Leaders of the Liberal Party in the House of Commons were
   nominally elected at the beginning of each session of Parliament
   by vote of all Liberal MPs. However, elections were normally

3) From 1969 until 1988, the Leader was elected by an electoral
   college representing all constituency associations.

4) From 1988 the Leader has been elected in a postal ballot of all
   individual members of the party, using the alternative vote system.

5) The Social Democratic Party was formed on 26th March 1981, and
   voted on 2nd March 1988 to merge with the Liberal Party. Leaders
   of the Social Democratic Party were:

2nd July 1982       Roy Harris Jenkins
                      b. 11th November 1920
13th June 1983      Dr David Anthony Llewellyn Owen
                      b. 2nd July 1938
29th August 1987    Robert Adam Ross Maclennan
                      b. 26th June 1936

Elections for Leader of the Social Democratic Party

Ballot 2nd July 1982

Roy Jenkins        26,256
Dr David Owen      20,864

   A minority of members disagreed with the decision to merge with
   the Liberal Party and relaunched the Social Democratic Party on
   8th March 1988 with Dr David Owen as Leader. This party was disbanded
   in July 1990.